A former Georgian house, it was rebuilt in 1775 and alterations and additions were made to it in the middle of the 19th century and in 1875.
Once the home of the Francis Hayhurst family the hall then fell into disrepair having been used over the decades for a variety of uses. In 1998 the Hall and its 14-acre estate were purchased by a property developer (Messers PJ Livesey) and the buildings were carefully converted and refurbished and transformed into unique homes and apartments. Homes can often be found on Right Move.
The grounds include parkland, gardens and an ornamental lake.
The house is designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building.